Market landscape

Coverage of artificial intelligence solutions across insurance branches and the value chain.

Beta

Group comparison — Europe's largest insurers

Key figures from the latest annual reports for the whole insurance group. Monetary values are converted to CHF for comparability; the small number below each value is the prior year, with an arrow showing the year-on-year change. Superscripts refer to the notes under each table.

Group
AXAFrance · EUR
107,4371
102,594
9,1112
7,334
90.6%
91.0%
224.0%3
216.0%
16.0%4
15.2%
43,896
46,407
156,0005
AllianzGermany · EUR
173,8526
167,194
10,0217
9,236
92.2%
93.4%
218.0%
209.0%
18.1%8
16.9%
58,311
56,079
156,875
156,626
GeneraliItaly · EUR
91,2559
88,527
3,88010
3,463
92.6%11
94.0%
219.0%
210.0%
n/a12
29,820
28,262
88,00013
Zurich Insurance GroupSwitzerland · USD
39,93414
36,926
5,384
4,605
92.6%
94.2%
259.0%15
253.0%
26.9%16
24.6%
22,584
20,174
65,00017
Lloyd's of LondonUnited Kingdom · GBP
61,72118
59,163
11,30019
10,234
87.6%
86.9%
200.0%20
205.0%
22.0%21
21.0%
53,08722
50,209
n/a23
Talanx (HDI)Germany · EUR
45,56424
44,780
2,306
1,839
89.1%25
90.3%
n/a26
220.0%
19.7%
17.9%
12,525
10,845
29,464
29,976
ChubbUnited States · USD31
52,22927
49,106
8,166
7,343
85.7%
86.6%
n/a28
15.0%29
15.0%
58,416
50,705
43,00030
43,000
CNP AssurancesFrance · EUR
36,36332
34,782
1,388
1,471
n/a33
256.0%
237.0%
n/a34
21,10435
19,569
8,479
8,300
Crédit Agricole AssurancesFrance · EUR
48,73236
40,548
1,88837
1,822
94.6%38
94.4%
195.0%39
200.0%
n/a40
n/a40
7,100
6,700
BNP Paribas CardifFrance · EUR
37,66541
33,852
98042
898
n/a43
169.0%44
158.0%
n/a45
n/a45
9,000
9,000
CovéaFrance · EUR
25,47746
25,782
1,642
1,113
97.8%47
99.7%
221.0%
191.0%
n/a48
19,71649
19,065
25,00050
MAPFRESpain · EUR
27,10551
26,145
1,00352
839
92.2%53
94.4%
205.3%
207.4%
12.4%
12.0%
8,333
7,905
n/a54
Prudential plcUnited Kingdom · USD
22,42755
19,216
3,15156
1,810
n/a57
262.0%58
280.0%
14.0%59
14.0%
15,933
13,854
15,33860
15,412
HelvetiaSwitzerland · CHF
11,55061
11,553
575
502
93.1%
95.0%
320.0%62
288.0%
14.1%
12.8%
13,00463
21,13863
Die MobiliarSwitzerland · CHF
5,173
4,943
82564
391
97.0%
97.1%
519.0%65
518.0%
10.5%64
5.9%
8,674
7,075
5,85866
5,841
  • AXA: 1 Premiums = gross written premiums & other revenues (IFRS 17 basis). 2 FY2025 net income lifted by the disposal of AXA IM to BNP Paribas. 3 Solvency II; 224% at 31.12.2025 (≈215% from 1.1.2026 after grandfathering ended). 4 Underlying RoE (an APM), not a plain IFRS RoE. 5 Group workforce ≈156,000; prior-year headcount not separately stated.
  • Allianz: 6 Premium volume = total business volume (insurance + asset management + banking). 7 IFRS net income attributable to shareholders; Allianz headlines a higher 'core net income'. 8 Core RoE; Allianz does not headline a plain IFRS RoE.
  • Generali: 9 Gross written premiums, Life + P&C combined. 10 Net result, group share (the adjusted net result is slightly higher). 11 P&C discounted combined ratio (undiscounted FY2025 ≈94.3%). 12 Operating RoE not disclosed in the FY2025 results release. 13 ≈88,000 headcount (plus ≈163,000 advisors); prior-year not separately stated.
  • Zurich Insurance Group: 14 P&C gross written premiums; no single group GWP headline (Life GWP is additional). 15 Swiss Solvency Test; FY2025 259% is an estimate (filed with FINMA by end-April). 16 Core ROE (operating, excludes unrealised gains/losses). 17 ≈65,000 headcount; prior-year not separately stated.
  • Lloyd's of London: 18 Whole-market aggregate gross written premiums (Lloyd's is an insurance market, not a single company). 19 Result before tax (Lloyd's headlines a pre-tax figure). 20 Market-wide solvency ratio (the central solvency ratio was 496%/435%). 21 Lloyd's-disclosed 'return on capital', not a statutory RoE. 22 Net resources / market capital base. 23 No market-wide headcount is reported.
  • Talanx (HDI): 24 Insurance revenue (IFRS 17); Talanx does not headline gross written premiums. 25 Group net combined ratio (primary P&C + reinsurance). 26 FY2025 year-end Solvency II not yet published (deferred to the SFCR); 233% on the internal model at 30.9.2025.
  • Chubb: 27 Consolidated gross premiums written (P&C + Life); net premiums written were $54,842m/$51,468m. 28 US/Swiss-regulated — no Solvency II ratio is published. 29 Reported US-GAAP RoE; core operating RoE ≈13.7%/13.8%. 30 ≈43,000 global workforce (10-K, rounded in both years). 31 Chubb is run as a US-based global insurer (shown with the US flag), but Chubb Limited is legally incorporated and domiciled in Zurich, Switzerland — its European seat.
  • CNP Assurances: 32 Premium income (non-GAAP chiffre d'affaires), not IFRS 17 insurance revenue; 2025 perimeter changed. 33 Life/savings/protection insurer — no group P&C combined ratio. 34 RoE not disclosed. 35 Equity attributable to owners (excludes the CSM-based 'patrimoine économique').
  • Crédit Agricole Assurances: 36 Total premium income (non-GAAP), not IFRS 17 insurance revenue. 37 Net income, group share of CAA. 38 P&C France (Pacifica), incl. discounting, net of reinsurance. 39 Solvency II; FY2024 disclosed as 'above 200%'. 40 RoE and equity not disclosed in the results releases.
  • BNP Paribas Cardif: 41 Gross written premiums (= BNP Paribas Insurance business-line GWP). 42 IFRS after-tax net income per SFCR (FY2024 restated); the pre-tax headline (€1,960m/€1,600m) is higher. 43 Creditor-protection/savings insurer — no P&C combined ratio. 44 Solvency II SCR coverage (standard formula). 45 RoE and IFRS book equity not separately disclosed.
  • Covéa: 46 Total gross earned premiums incl. the reinsurance segment / PartnerRe (≈€8,192m in 2025). 47 Group combined ratio (France non-life 98.7%, PartnerRe non-life 96.6% separately). 48 Mutual group — RoE not disclosed. 49 Accounting equity (fonds propres comptables). 50 ≈25,000 headcount; prior-year not separately stated.
  • MAPFRE: 51 Written and accepted premiums (IFRS 17 insurance revenue was €26,352m in 2025). 52 Attributable profit; FY2024 €902m is after a €90m Verti Germany goodwill writedown. 53 Non-life combined ratio. 54 No exact audited group headcount is disclosed (MAPFRE self-describes as 30,000+).
  • Prudential plc: 55 Prudential plc (LSE/HKEX) — an Asia/Africa life insurer reporting in USD (not Prudential Financial US). Gross premiums earned (supplementary IFRS 4 measure); IFRS 17 insurance revenue was $11,080m/$10,358m. 56 Profit attributable to parent equity holders. 57 Pure life/health insurer — no P&C combined ratio. 58 Hong Kong IA Group-Wide Supervision (GWS) shareholder cover ratio. 59 Operating return on IFRS shareholders' equity (not statutory). 60 Excl. commission-based sales staff.
  • Helvetia: 61 Business volume = premiums written + deposits. FY2025 income-statement items are Helvetia standalone (Baloise consolidates into the P&L from 2026). 62 Swiss Solvency Test (Helvetia standalone). 63 FY2025 equity and employees include Baloise after the Dec 2025 merger (Helvetia Baloise); the prior-year standalone is not comparable, so no trend is shown. Employees are FTE.
  • Die Mobiliar: 64 FY2025 net income (and RoE) lifted by one-offs, mainly the partial sale of the Swiss Marketplace Group stake at its Sept 2025 IPO. 65 Swiss Solvency Test. 66 FTE excl. apprentices (total headcount ≈6,572/6,593). Swiss-only cooperative group.

Reinsurers (shown separately)

Reinsurers report on a different basis (e.g. combined ratio relates to P&C reinsurance), so they are listed apart from the primary insurers.

Group
Munich ReGermany · EUR
56,1831
56,572
5,693
5,292
73.5%2
77.3%
298.0%
287.0%
18.3%
18.2%
31,082
30,598
43,982
43,584
Swiss ReSwitzerland · USD
34,1643
36,114
3,7544
2,567
79.4%5
89.9%
250.0%6
257.0%
19.6%
15.0%
19,8907
17,338
15,238
15,360
  • Munich Re: 1 Insurance revenue (IFRS 17), group total. 2 Property-casualty reinsurance combined ratio (excl. Global Specialty Insurance from FY2025; FY2024 restated on this basis).
  • Swiss Re: 3 Group total insurance revenue (no separate group gross-premiums-written line is reported). 4 Net income attributable to common shareholders (total group net income 4,762/3,238). 5 P&C Reinsurance segment combined ratio. 6 Group SST ratio (250% as of 1.1.2026, incl. proposed capital repatriation); reported with a delay. 7 Common shareholders' equity (total incl. NCI/AT1: 25,739/23,240).

Swiss market — cross-group view

A high-level comparison of the Swiss entities / Switzerland business of these groups: gross premium volume in Switzerland, Swiss employees and the non-life combined ratio where disclosed.

Entity
Zurich Switzerland
3,8971
3,746
n/a2
94.0%
95.9%
AXA Switzerland
6,6403
6,200
4,7004
90.1%
90.4%
Allianz Suisse
n/a5
n/a
n/a
Generali (Schweiz)
n/a6
n/a
n/a
Helvetia (Swiss home market)
n/a7
n/a
n/a
Die Mobiliar
5,173
4,943
6,5728
6,593
97.0%9
97.1%
Baloise (Switzerland)
n/a10
3,785
n/a
n/a
Swiss Life (Switzerland)
10,20011
9,900
n/a12
n/a12
Vaudoise Assurances
1,51913
1,436
n/a14
96.4%
97.9%
  • Zurich Switzerland: 1 P&C gross written premiums & policy fees (Life reported separately). 2 Swiss headcount not disclosed (group ≈65,000 worldwide).
  • AXA Switzerland: 3 Total premium volume; FY2024 ≈6,200 implied by the disclosed +7% growth. 4 ≈4,700 staff (excl. ≈3,100 in distribution); prior-year not separately stated.
  • Allianz Suisse: 5 No standalone consolidated Swiss results published; only per-entity FINMA financial-condition reports — figures not verifiably disclosed for both years.
  • Generali (Schweiz): 6 No consolidated Swiss-group results published since FY2022 (then GWP CHF 1,832.8m, combined ratio 95%, 2,184 employees).
  • Helvetia (Swiss home market): 7 Switzerland home-market segment not broken out in the press releases; Helvetia merged with Baloise in Dec 2025 → Helvetia Baloise Holding AG.
  • Die Mobiliar: 8 Headcount, excl. trainees. 9 Elevated by weather/elementary claims (92.8% in 2023). Swiss-only cooperative group.
  • Baloise (Switzerland): 10 FY2024 Switzerland-segment business volume CHF 3,785m; no separate Swiss combined ratio. FY2025 absorbed into the merged Helvetia Baloise.
  • Swiss Life (Switzerland): 11 Switzerland-segment premiums. 12 Predominantly life/pensions — no non-life combined ratio; Swiss headcount not split out (group ≈11,000 FTE).
  • Vaudoise Assurances: 13 Total revenue (Swiss-only group); FY2024 ≈1,436 implied by +5.7% growth. 14 >2,000 FTE group-wide; an exact yearly headcount is not given.

Monetary figures converted to CHF at ECB reference rates as of 31 Dec 2025 (EUR/CHF 0.930, USD/CHF 0.792, GBP/CHF 1.066); both years use the same rate so the trend reflects business change, not currency moves. Premium and solvency definitions differ by group (IFRS 17 insurance revenue vs. gross written premiums; Solvency II vs. Swiss Solvency Test) — see the per-group notes.
Figures FY2025 vs. FY2024; compiled 2026-06 from each group's annual report / full-year results. Please verify against the primary sources before citing.